Newbee needs desperate help uses Sync Framework to synchronize SQL Server and SQL Server Compact databases RRS feed

• Question

• HI
    I am brand new to mobile programming. I wanted to use RDA but all Microsoft says that RDA is going away so use the Sync Framework. Well I went through all the examples that Microsoft give but as usual I can't get any of the code to work.

I am in desperate need here. Are there any exomaples out there on how to use the Sync Framework. And by what I mean as an example one where:
    It gives a step by step instruction on how to

Set up the compact database on the device

Down load data from SQL Server 2008 to the compact databbase on device

Upload data from the compact database to the tables on SQL Server 2008

BECAUSE THAT IS ALL I WANT TO DO:

Download data from the sql server database to the compact database on the device then upload information from the compact database on the device to the SQL Server database tables.

It sounds so basic yet I can not find one good example on how to do this.

PLEASE HELP!!!

Thanks

MutlyP

Wednesday, July 28, 2010 5:51 PM

All replies

• Take a look at the sample code from the gallery.

http://code.msdn.microsoft.com/Release/ProjectReleases.aspx?ProjectName=sync&ReleaseId=3422

This should be helpful in your scenario. What you are describing is Database Provider scenario where you are sync'ing SQL Server with SQL Ce which is very much supported by our product.

Hope this helps,

Patrick

• Proposed as answer by Patrick S. Lee Wednesday, July 28, 2010 6:46 PM
    Wednesday, July 28, 2010 6:45 PM
  • Hi mutlyp,

Check out "Sync Services for ADO.NET for devices" from http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=75FEF59F-1B5E-49BC-A21A-9EF4F34DE6FC&displaylang=en. It should have what you need.

SDE, Sync Framework - http://msdn.com/sync/
    • Proposed as answer by Ganeshan Wednesday, July 28, 2010 7:30 PM
    Wednesday, July 28, 2010 7:30 PM