CRM 2011 - Workflow RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am trying to run a dynamic workflow by comparing 2 fields (text fields) on two seperate entities. Can anyone instruct me on how to do this, I am new to CRM 2011 and getting slightly confused with the below scenario:

I have 2 entities, E1 and E2. On E1 I have a text field called F1 and on E2 I have a text field called F2. I am trying to create a workflow where I start with a check condition, that E1 - F1 = E2(F2) - then once this has completed a task gets created (testing environment). I suspect I need to create a relationship on E1 to E2, but not entirely sure.

Can anyone assist.

Many Thanks

Paul

Monday, August 5, 2013 3:52 PM

All replies

• Hi Paul,

If you want to compare the E1.F1 value against the F2 value for a single E2 record, then you will need a lookup from E1 to E2; otherwise if there is no relationship the workflow can't know which E2 record to compare with.

If you actually want check if F1 matches F2 on any E2 record, then this is not possibly using the out-of-box workflow, however you could do this with a custom workflow activity (code).

Hope that helps

Paul

If my response helped you find your answer please show your thanks by taking the time to "Mark As Answer" and "Vote As Helpful".

Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Blog Magnetism

Tuesday, August 6, 2013 8:53 AM
  • Thanks for your response Paul, one of the entities is system and 1 custom. The two fields F1 and F2 are both text fields and I have created the relationship (lookup) between the entities. When I run the workflow, it gets stuck on the check condition when I ask E1: F1 = F2 (E2). Any ideas on a work around using the out of the box product as I dont have alot of experience with custom workflow activity.

Thanks

Tuesday, August 6, 2013 7:47 PM
  • What is the error you are getting?

If my response helped you find your answer please show your thanks by taking the time to "Mark As Answer" and "Vote As Helpful".