none
SQL Server - New Certification?

Question

• Hi good afternoon.

There are 2 MCSA certifications:

* MCSA: SQL Server 2012
    * MCSA: SQL 2016

I'm studying for some time to the first certification (MCSA: SQL Server 2012), which consists of 3 tests (461, 462, 463), but I saw now that with the release of SQL 2016, there is a new certification (MCSA: SQL 2016), which consists of 6 tests (761, 762, 764. 765, 767, 768).

I wonder if this new certification came to replace the MCSA: SQL Server 2012, for which I have been studying for some time. Because I heard that there is expiration date to the certifications and that after a few years, Microsoft changes the structure of certifications. Therefore, I am concerned about taking the tests 461, 462, 463, spending all the money, etc., and then, this certification is not worth anything, because the MCSA: SQL 2016 have come to replace the first. So I would like to know whether this risk exists or not.

Thank you so much.
    Thursday, August 18, 2016 4:45 PM

Answers

• Hi,

it is correct, that all certifications will expire after some time. So yes: The SQL Server 2012/14 certification will expire some time. The exam page does not give an expire date so far but if i remember correctly, a certification expires when 2 new versions are available.

Doing the SQL Server 2012/14 exams are not a loss of time or effort. You get a certification which is great. The disadvantage is, that the certification will expire before the SQL Server 2016 exams will expire. But the big advantage is, that the exam and training material is available now.

The SQL Server 2016 exams are still in development and there are no training kits available so far. But once the exams are available, you also have the advantage that you only have 2 exams to earn MCSA and not 3 exams.

(There are 3 MCSA titles available:
    1st: Database Development (761 / 762)
    2nd: Database Administration (764 / 765)
    3rd: BI Development (767 / 768)