MSCRM 4.0 client- Urgent RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I am a developer and need to create a development environment on my Laptop which will be client to MSCRM 4.0 server. PLease tell me recommended configuration and environmnet to achieve the same.
    Wednesday, October 21, 2009 6:26 AM

Answers

• I get that too Donna.
    Karan  if your working with a Dynamics VAR get some more resources on this.  If your thinking about working on production please take our advise and get a decent dev and test environment.  

Donna is right.  Follow the best practices.

Wednesday, October 21, 2009 6:41 PM

All replies

• Karan,

Does your development environment need to be self contained (See option 1 below-Client/SQL/CRM Web etc) or are you looking to connect from a development environemtn to an external CRM Server (See Option 2)?
    Option1: If you want to get a self contained development environment there is the Microsoft Demonstration Virtual Machine covering CRM (if you are a Microsoft Partner), or you can follow the following blog which goes theough the steps required: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee294457.aspx to set up your own environment.
    Option 2: If you need a Dev environment that hits your external CRM server, just go to the external CRM site on the Dev browser, and/or install the MS Outlook Client on the Dev machine.
    I have a notebook and use a Virtual machine to produce by Dev/Demo environment.  It's not a super fast machine so I need to make certain I've started it way before I go to do anything so it has time to crank up.
    Regards
    Graham Hill
    Metisc
    Wednesday, October 21, 2009 7:09 AM
  • Hi,,
    thanks for quick reply

I have an existing MSCRM 4 server at my location. I want to add a laptop machine as a client to it for development purpose. Kindly let me know the hardware requirment and softwares necessary to connect to that CRM sever
    Wednesday, October 21, 2009 7:30 AM
  • Karan,