A Question about "ConstrainEqualRandom" (Migrated from community.research.microsoft.com) RRS feed

• Question

• Keri posted on 10-23-2009 9:09 PM

Hi,

I am new to Infer.net, and I am trying to play with it.
    As documented, there is a great way to attach constraint between
    random variables using "ConstrainEqualRandom"...I made
    a simple test showing below, but I cannot explain why Infer.net
    gives me that result...

Could anyone explain how Infer.net generates such result? or I
    used this function in a wrong way?..

What I want to test is suppose I have a prio distribution on A, and B.
    I also know C = A & B... My intuition is if I have some constraint on
    C, can I infer something about A,B,and C...

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

static void Main()
            {
                Variable<bool> PA = Variable.Bernoulli(0.3).Named("PA");  
                Variable<bool> PB = Variable.Bernoulli(0.8).Named("PB");               
                Variable<bool> PC = (PA & PB).Named("PC");

Variable.ConstrainEqualRandom<bool, Bernoulli>(PC, new Bernoulli(0.6));

InferenceEngine ie = new InferenceEngine();
                ie.ShowFactorGraph = true;

Console.WriteLine("PA: " + ie.Infer(PA));
                Console.WriteLine("PB: " + ie.Infer(PB));
                Console.WriteLine("PC: " + ie.Infer(PC));
            }

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Compiling model...done.
    Initialising...done.
    Iterating:
    .........|.........|.........|.........|.........| 50
    PA: Bernoulli(0.375)
    PB: Bernoulli(0.8214)
    PC: Bernoulli(0.3214)

when I change Variable.ConstrainEqualRandom<bool, Bernoulli>(PC, new Bernoulli(0.6));
    to some others like Variable.ConstrainEqualRandom<bool, Bernoulli>(PC, new Bernoulli(0.7));
    Infer.net will give me different result as well.