SQL Server Express Provider RRS feed

• Question

• Hey guys,

I'm new to sync, wondering if there is a SQL Server provider out there written for VS 2008 and C# Local Data Cashe or if anyone knows how to write it? or tutorials?

I know VS 2008 can do SQL Compact Express but I need a bigger database and am using SQL Express. Please help.

Stephen
    • Moved by Liam Cavanagh - MSFTMicrosoft employee Tuesday, September 29, 2009 9:49 PM (From:SyncFx - General)
    • Moved by Max Wang_1983 Thursday, April 21, 2011 10:37 PM forum consolidation (From:SyncFx - Microsoft Sync Framework Database Providers [ReadOnly])
    Tuesday, September 29, 2009 5:41 PM

Answers

• Hi,

If you want a solution to automatically figure out which set of tables in your database should be synced, it is not a problem that Microsoft Sync Framework can help here because it doesn't know your business logics.

If you expect to sync all tables in a database, you can write a SQL script to get all table names and the column info of each table from the SQL server SCINFORMATION_SCHEMA or ADO.Net connection.GetSchema API.

If you don't like to write hundreds of similiar code snippets to create different syncTables and syncAdapters for hundreds of tables, you can write one or two helper methods to do so by consuming the list of tables one by one and add each of them into the SyncAgent.Configuration.SyncTables and serverSyncProvider.SyncAdapters. I don't see many hard code if you try this way. Because the sample only used two tables, it didn't try to optimize this part. But it should be easy to refactor the code when you have more tables.

Thanks,
    Dong
    This posting is provided AS IS with no warranties, and confers no rights.
    Thursday, October 29, 2009 6:02 AM

All replies

• Hi Stephen,