How to get Money 2007 updates after 2011? RRS feed

• Question

• I've been using Money 2007 Deluxe happily since 2006, and I have the original (non-updated) disc, without the service packs. The last time I installed, which was when Windows 7 came out (I think it was late September), it got the updates fine from the Microsoft server, but I'm obviously concerned this won't be possible after January.

Where would I get a disc with the updates already on it, or how can I make one from my current installation? Can I reinstall on a new HD and somehow "capture" the update files? I looked all over the place for a standalone update and couldn't find one. Can I copy the files from my original disc, replace one or two, and burn an install CD? Which files were updated by the service packs? Surely someone has tried this already, I'd rather not mess up my install before I have to...

Also, once my financial institutions are set up in Money, will the online services for those institutions essentially work "forever", or at least until the institution turns off its OFX service? Or can Microsoft turn this off through an update? I know about the two-year online services limit, but the counter must reset itself after every fresh install, because I've never seen it. In fact, I don't ever remember going over two years between fresh OS installs.

Anyway, I'm not sure what I'll do if/when the updates get shut off. It's valuable, but being able to manage my accounts offline may be worth continuing to use Money. My main bank is just now rolling out an online money manager that is supposed to handle accounts from other banks, so I think I'll see how that's working by the end of the year and make my "final" decision then.

Appreciate any ideas.
    Tuesday, May 18, 2010 3:43 AM

Answers