Better WPA2 Enterprise support? RRS feed

• General discussion

• I've had the same problem going from Windows Mobile 6.0 to 6.1 to 6.5 on different devices.

At my university, Stockholms Universitet we have a wireless network shared with KTH, the Royal Institute of Technology. This network serves 15.000+ students (not all are going to connect to it obviously, but all have access if they need).

The problem is that a Windows Mobile device cannot access the protected/automatically connecting versions of this network "KTHOPEN-WPA" or "eduroam". Windows Mobile users are forced to connect to a open version and log in using a web browser. If you really quickly want to check your schedule or something, this is of course far from ideal. Other devices like Symbian, iPhone etc can connect with a minimum of effort.

I'm not an expert on WPA or network authentication but what I've worked out is that the network uses WPA2 Enterprise with PEAP and and authentication using a certifice. I'll post the instructions needed for connecting to it using a standard Windows XP PC (Windows 7 works simply entering username and password!)

These instructions can be found here:
    http://www.lan.kth.se/kthopen/wpa/

Instructions for standard microsoft driver

1. Click on the wireless network icon in the bottom right corner of your screen. A dialog opens.
    2. Click the "Properties" button. A Properties dialog opens.
    3. Switch to the "Wireless Networks" tab.
    4. Click "Add...". A new dialog opens.
    5. Enter the following settings:
      • Network name (SSID): eduroam
      • Network Authentication: WPA2 (or WPA if there's no WPA2 in the list)
      • Data encryption: AES (if possible)
    6. Switch to the Authentication tab.
    7. Select "Protected EAP (PEAP)" in the "EAP type" box.
    8. Uncheck "Authenticate as computer ...".
    9. Click Properties. Another dialog opens.