Installation Error - Bootmgr Missing RRS feed

• Question

• I just recently downloaded the 120 day evaluation version of Windows Home Server.  I made a bootable DVD from the .iso that I downloaded from Microsoft's download center.  Once I had the bootable DVD and made the neccesary changes to my bios to change the boot squence I attempted to install WHS.  After I was prompted to boot from a CD I get the following error: Bootmgr missing.  Any thoughts, suggestions?  I have downloaded the image multiple times and burned the .iso with multiple disks and burners.  The other thing that struck me as odd was typically when I download evals from Microsoft I receive a product key.  I did not receive a product key for this eval.  Any help that can be given would be much appreciated.

Thursday, January 22, 2009 7:07 PM

Answers

• I am currently using Windows 7 and I used the software that is included to burn the ISO.  I've never used it before so my confidence level is lacking.  It's a pretty straight forward app but I'm used to using Nero.  I will install Nero and give that a go.  I'll let you know how it goes.  Thanks.
    Friday, January 23, 2009 5:45 PM

All replies

• I would try a different DVD drive first. As for the product key, you'll have to obtain one on Connect.
    I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    Thursday, January 22, 2009 10:12 PM
  • I appreciate your response.  I have tried (2) different DVD drives and I've made multiple bootable DVDs.  I still get the message "Bootmgr is missing".  Any other suggestions?
    Thursday, January 22, 2009 10:20 PM
  • Sorry, I meant in your server.
    I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    Thursday, January 22, 2009 10:22 PM