How should I implement this type of sync RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am a total NEWBIE regarding the SYNC framework.

I need to compose a small service that will do the following, and I wanted to know if SYNC FRAMEWORK is the solution for me :

The service will get a request via MSMQ for a file, and will check if the LOCAL COPY of the file is identical (or even exists) to the REMOTE COPY of the file (or folder).

If it is identical - it will return a message via MSMQ saying 'synced'.

If it is not identical - it will get the REMOTE COPY ALWAYS (local changes must be discarded).

If the REMOTE COPY was deleted - it SHOULD DELETE THE LOCAL COPY.

If the LOCAL COPY does not exist - it should COPY THE REMOTE COPY locally.

Should I use SYNC FRAMEWORK for this ?

Or should I just write an app that checks the SIZE+DATE MODIFIED of both copies to determine if they are identical ?

I just don't know if SYNC FRAMEWORK can give this functionallity ?

(that ALWAYS copies the REMOTE FILE, and if it doesn't exist - DELETES THE LOCAL COPY).

Thank you very much in advance !
    Sunday, August 23, 2009 7:51 AM

All replies

• Hi,

I am a total NEWBIE regarding the SYNC framework.

I need to compose a small service that will do the following, and I wanted to know if SYNC FRAMEWORK is the solution for me :

The service will get a request via MSMQ for a file, and will check if the LOCAL COPY of the file is identical (or even exists) to the REMOTE COPY of the file (or folder).

If it is identical - it will return a message via MSMQ saying 'synced'.

If it is not identical - it will get the REMOTE COPY ALWAYS (local changes must be discarded).

If the REMOTE COPY was deleted - it SHOULD DELETE THE LOCAL COPY.

If the LOCAL COPY does not exist - it should COPY THE REMOTE COPY locally.

Should I use SYNC FRAMEWORK for this ?

Or should I just write an app that checks the SIZE+DATE MODIFIED of both copies to determine if they are identical ?