Cannot import Sample Data with the Dynamics CRM Migration Manager RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new to Microsoft Dynamics CRM. I installed it (On-Premise Edition) on a Windows Server 2008 R2 server 64 bit and wanted to install the Sample data to see how everything works. The SQL server is Microsoft SQL Server 2008. So I made a new organisation called "Demo". After some trouble installing the Data Migration Manager I finally had it installed.

I selected the right SQL server and the right organisation, then when I tried to import the Sampledatamap.xml file it stops near the end with the following error(original error is in dutch, im translating it to english):

The file contains a list value that is not specified in Microsoft Dynamics CRM: lead, industry code, 32. Fix this inconsistency, and import the data directory again.

I really have no clue what to do!

It does seem though that the Data Miration Tool installs Microsoft SQL Server 2005 on my system. Isn't there a more recent version that support SQL Server 2008?

Some help would be greatly appreciated!

Tuesday, March 30, 2010 9:44 AM

Answers

• According to this article, the sample data should work for Dutch language.  Migrating data into CRM requires some knowlege about the application in order to troubleshoot issues.  Have a look at this tutorial for using the Data Migration manager.  You might want to consider getting a little help to get started with the application.  A consultant will probably be able to help you with this in just a few hours time.