Office Validation Failure & Blocked Key RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hello,

This is a repetitive problem I keep seeing, I know it also happens all over, but with it happening in my area by another trader and with me know their getting away with it, it is really causing my customers grief as well as problems. 

I am a Computer Engineer in the North West UK.  Nearly every week I come upon a customer who has had this other local sole trader out on call to their house. He takes their machine away to do a software repair, then brings it back with a copy of Office 2003 Pro installed.  As well as other things like Symantec Norton Enterprise. 

My customer never asked for Office 2003 pro (he has no need for it).  I suspected it and went for the office validation for him to point it out and walla, it was a blocked key.  I have also noticed in the past from the same trader he makes copies of Factory Restore disks for OEM machines

But talking about the office failing validation with the blocked key and a trader who clames to be a computer engineer and a proffesional one at that etc etc etc, needs to be stopped.

Perosnally I don't think Microsoft are interested as I bought this matter to their attention around  a year ago and he is still operating the same.

I am a Microsoft Registered Partner, and do everything to the book.  I don't see why people get away with it, and wish more was done to stop it.  I could go on. 

Is their a better & less hassle process or passing details on for this trader to Microsoft as the only way I see it is via an American online form.

Thanks all for reading.

NightHawk100

Thursday, February 28, 2008 1:17 AM

Answers

All replies

• Protect yourself from software piracy: http://www.microsoft.com/piracy/

• Marked as answer by JeniferA Thursday, September 11, 2008 9:36 PM
    Thursday, February 28, 2008 2:52 AM