Training materials for 70-290 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I am new to this forum and wonder if I could ask a question re the Microsoft training guide for 70-290 by Dan Holme and Orin Thomas. Some time ago, prior to starting my studies for 70-290, I purchased this book, but the copy I got was the First Edition (published in 2004). I have since learned that a Second Edition was published in 2006.

I am wondering whether it is worth my buying this second edition. As well as the first edition guide I have also been studying 'Mastering Windows Server 2003' by Minasi, as well as many online resources such as TechNet, and also working hands-on with Windows Server 2003 via my virtual machine lab. Thus I feel it may not really be worth me buying this second edition.

Can anyone advise me what the differences are between the two editions ? One difference I have heard about is that WSUS 3.0 is covered rather than SUS, but I have no knowledge of what other differences there are. Are the differences huge or just minor ?

Also where can I get a detailed up to date description of the material covered by the 70-290 exam?

I have checked :-
    http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/exams/70-290.aspx

but this doesn't seem to be that detailed, eg version of SUS/WSUS is not even mentioned. Is this the most detailed information that Microsoft publish on the exam syllabus ?

Any advice much appreciated.

Thursday, September 11, 2008 5:54 PM

Answers

• Hi Simon,

This is the most up to date list of training materials.
    Given the age of the MCSE core exams, I wouldn't expect new formal materials.
    I've been using the Self paced training kits and these are (in my humble opinion) sufficient for studying the theory.

Good luck
    • Marked as answer by .revEditor Monday, September 22, 2008 6:47 PM
    Thursday, September 18, 2008 9:41 PM