Getting Meaningful Reports from a Master Project using Project Pro 2010 with Project Server RRS feed

• Question

• Project was established before I came onboard, and I'm trying to get all the reports that management wants.  Scenario is as follows:

One master project, 25 sub-projects.  All subplans are related to project implementation but not necessarily to each other.

If I pull a milestone report from the master, I get all the milestone information, but cannot tell which subproject the milestone is related to, and unfortunately the task descriptions are not specific enough to tell this.  Pulling the same report from all 25 sub-projects is rather tedious.

I'm new to the 2010 Pro version but have worked with earlier version of Project.  I am totally new to Project Server.

Pointers to meaningful websites and/or reference books would be greatly appreciated. 

Also, I've seen other posts that suggest that Custom reports are not working correctly -- is that still true?

Thanks!

• Moved by Gary Chefetz, MCITP, MCT, MVP Monday, December 20, 2010 9:24 PM Post is for Project Server, not Project Pro (From:Project Standard and Professional General Questions and Answers)
    Monday, December 20, 2010 3:17 PM

Answers

• Betty:

The BI Center in Project Server is the ideal place to create this report. Are you familiar with working with pivot tables in Excel? If so, click on the Business Intelligence link and then navigate to the templates library. Click into the English folder and then click on the Projects and Assignments workbook link. This template brings in the data you need to create your report.

If you are not familiar with using Excel and publishing to SharePoint, you will want to jump into Module 17 or Managing Enterprise Projects using Microsoft Project Server 2010, when it arrives. We've included a great step-by-step tutorial on building reports and dashboards that any non-technical project manager can follow.

Gary Chefetz, MCITP, MCP, MVP msProjectExperts