Database design for sync services RRS feed

• Question

• I'm just beginning to think about the design of an occasionally connected application using sync services, and I've got a couple of basic questions about how you guys imagine a database will be designed in this scenario:

1. Do you normally have a common schema between the server database and the offline client?

2. Can you use a common data access layer for server and client apps?

My first thought was that it would be nice to share the schema and DAL code between the two, but the more I read the more I wonder whether I'm thinking about this the wrong way.

I'd be very grateful if you could offer some advice!

Thanks.

Jon.
    • Moved by Max Wang_1983 Friday, April 22, 2011 8:33 PM forum consolidation (From:SyncFx - Microsoft Sync Framework Database Providers [ReadOnly])
    Sunday, March 2, 2008 10:36 AM

All replies

• Hi Jon,

those are very generic design issues and could var from case to case. for the schema issue, the sync service was designed to let the sync service application to build in the logic to handle such situations. so what would be your most typical scenarios ? will they requires schema difference between client and the server ?

for sharing DAL, are you using Ntier configuration or 2 tier configuration ? technically, there is nothing blocks you from using the same DAL to access the server db. but you probably will consider things such as accessibility, security, identiry user etc to make your decisions.

Thanks

Yunwen

Sunday, March 2, 2008 6:17 PM
  • Hi Yunwen,

They are fairly generic questions, but I wondered if there were general patterns that people follow.

Up till know I've been planning a web app with a data access strategy based on an existing DAL-generator I have, which creates stored procedures and a data class for each table. These data classes are part of an n-tier architecture.