Want to Add A Computer to a Subscription RRS feed

• Question

• OK.. I have used OC since it first started, but when it comes to multi-PC management, I am a novice, so these may be silly questions, but here they go.

1. I have a valid subscription, but currently have OC on only one machine (designated as the hub), how do I add a second or third machine on the subscription? Do I use my Windows Live ID or the other person's?

2. I have a Vista 32-bit OS. Can a machine with XP 32-bit share the circle?

3. Are there any potential isssues with running the second OC through a router? (e.g., XP/Vista firewall conflicts or others).

4. Do I have to give the second machine the same computer name as the one OC is installed on now?

First of several posts in other threads today. Thanks

Sunday, March 9, 2008 3:16 PM

Answers

• Hi, See!

1. All PCs activated with the same LiveID will be on the same subscription and therefore be part of the Circle. Any PC designated as a hub (you can make all of them hubs) will reflect the status of the other PCs on the subscription.

2. Same answer as number 1 - if the OS supports OneCare, the PC becomes part of the Circle when activated.

3. No.

4. No.

Ask away. :-) (or search)

-steve

Monday, March 10, 2008 5:45 PM

All replies

• Hi, See!

1. All PCs activated with the same LiveID will be on the same subscription and therefore be part of the Circle. Any PC designated as a hub (you can make all of them hubs) will reflect the status of the other PCs on the subscription.

2. Same answer as number 1 - if the OS supports OneCare, the PC becomes part of the Circle when activated.

3. No.

4. No.

Ask away. :-) (or search)

-steve

Monday, March 10, 2008 5:45 PM
  • I loaded OC on a second PC at home, but opening OC displays that protection for that computer will expire.  How do you link the 2nd computer?

Wednesday, March 12, 2008 4:10 PM
  •  THECORN wrote: