Network engineer RRS feed

• Question

• Looking to train for a new career path looking at completing following courses.

Comptia A+,N+, Security.

Windows 2008 enterprise with relevant exams.

As i have no recent experience in this industry although plenty of recent home based computer experience, will this be a major factor in me being able to secure a job in this industry. Will lack of 2003 based training also be a problem.

Any advice is most welcome.

Thanks in advance.

Wednesday, January 19, 2011 12:34 PM

Answers

• Keep in mind that much of what you'll learn about Server 2008 is backwards compatible with Server 2003....so, I wouldn't worry about not having any certifications on Server 2003.  Keep in mind that Server 2003 is now 8 years old, and many companies are starting to switch over to Server 2008.  Having training/knowledge/certification in the most current techologies will be of greater benefit.

• Marked as answer by Rubel Khan Friday, February 4, 2011 6:09 PM
    Wednesday, January 19, 2011 2:46 PM
    Answerer
  • If you train yourself on windows server 2008 there is no problem of lack of training of server 2003. you simply need to have software for windows server 2003.Installation, configuration, maintenace feautures are same . Server 2008 enterprise is more customised server client based operating system then server 2003 means more features i,e. enhaced security features and more more features of policies local policies and group policies and more services. 
    Thursday, January 20, 2011 7:11 PM

All replies

• Keep in mind that much of what you'll learn about Server 2008 is backwards compatible with Server 2003....so, I wouldn't worry about not having any certifications on Server 2003.  Keep in mind that Server 2003 is now 8 years old, and many companies are starting to switch over to Server 2008.  Having training/knowledge/certification in the most current techologies will be of greater benefit.

Wednesday, January 19, 2011 2:46 PM