How to inject a change into a Pre Create on an Entity RRS feed

• Question

• When a new entry is created on an Entity in CRM I need to run a process and update a field as it saves on Create.  I've read I can't use a PreImage on Create since it hasn't saved to the database, so how would this work?  Example, a user fills out the Contact form on CRM 2013 (on premises) and saves, then the plugin runs, queries a SQL database, then updates one of the items in the Contact Entity with the information.  I tried doing this on Post Update, but we have plugins that run on Update that I don't want to run when this data is updated. Seems simpler just to pull it on Create and save it then. 

Is this possible?  I'm very new to CRM and this is one of my first plugins to write, if that matters :)

Thanks.

Sam

Tuesday, September 16, 2014 9:53 PM

All replies

• images are used to get the fields of the entity before or after the actual action is performed.

new attributes can be added to the entity using attributes.add method.

regards

Jithesh http://mscrmshop.blogspot.com.au/2010/10/crm-2011-plugin-tutorial.html?m=1

Tuesday, September 16, 2014 11:06 PM
  • Hello,

You can write a pre create plugin and inject your attribute to entity propertybag so that it will take your changes before going to the database like below

entity.Attributes.Add("accountnumber", rndgen.Next().ToString()); //this is a sample to generate random autoid for account

Our Website| Our Blog | Follow US | My Facebook Page | Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2011 Application Design
    Make sure to "Vote as Helpful" and "Mark As Answer",if you get answer of your question.

Wednesday, September 17, 2014 5:00 AM
  • Hello,

You can write a pre create plugin and inject your attribute to entity propertybag so that it will take your changes before going to the database like below

entity.Attributes.Add("accountnumber", rndgen.Next().ToString()); //this is a sample to generate random autoid for account