More and More Validation Issues RRS feed

• Question

• I seem to be running into more and more validation problems, and the time has come for me to sort them out once and for all.

I have a genuine Windows XP product. About 18 months ago, my daughter's EX-boyfriend who works for a large corporate IT department loaded a "more up-to-date version of Windows XP & MS Office". For over a year there were no problems, but I gather in the past few months things have changed and the new WGA update has identified that my version of WinXP is not genuine. I have now turned off the Automatic Updates facility.

Now I can't use Windows Media Player to play my music. So I have had to work around that for a few months.

A few days ago I bought a GPS system that has the ability to synchronizes with my MS Outlook Contacts (I'm a Sales Manager and I want all my current & future customer's locations on my new GPS device). I can't get my PC to recognizes the GPS device - tried 'Find New Hardware' but got nothing. But I can charge it up using the USB port. It appears that my GPS device relies on Active Synch but because of the non-genuine WinXP I can't download Active Synch. Does this sound correct?

By reading some of the threads here, it appears that I need to re-install WinXP from the genuine WinXP disc. Is this correct? When I tried to re-install I get a message that "the version of WinXP you are trying to install is older than your current version and ALL files and settings will be lost!!" Is this correct?? I note that the version of MS Office, that the old boyfriend installed, is also "114 Blocked VLK" and that I need to purchase my own copy.