none
How to repair corrupt file of MS Money 2003?

Question

• I have been using MS Money 2003 on Windows 10 for a few years. Yesterday I found that my Money file could not be opened any more. It shows an error message as "Money has detected that you did not close the file before exiting. Money needs to verify the information in your file...." When verifying the information the program asked to type in the password for the file. I put it in, but again another error message appears saying "The password you entered was incorrect." I am 100% the password is actually correct. When I tried to repair the file by using the utility, salv.exe, it shows an error message, "The utility was unable to successfully salvage your file. The file may be too deeply damaged......" The backup file is corrupted as well. When I tried to restore the backup file, it showed similar error messages. Can anybody please help me to resolve the issue? Thanks!
    • Edited by yzjw Sunday, August 13, 2017 4:15 AM
    Saturday, August 12, 2017 10:56 PM

All replies

• I am very sorry to hear that. The outlook is not good.

I would install a newer version of Money on a different computer. See what is currently the second post in this forum. See if that can handle your *.mny or *.mbf file. If that works, we can discuss your options.

Also, Money 2003 has a scheduled backup ability. I have my scheduled backups go to a USB flash drive. Is it possible that you kept a backup on other media?

Sunday, August 13, 2017 2:06 PM
  • Cal, Thanks for helping. As you suggested, I downloaded Money Plus Sunset Home and Business on a different computer, but it is not able to open my 2003 .mny file or to restore the .mbf file, or to repair the corrupted files. When using Money 2003, I set the program to backup automatically to a folder on the same computer every time when exiting the program. But this backup file seems to be corrupted as well. Thanks again for your help.