Newbie question RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am a newbie with power shell scrpting,I really appreciate if someone can look at this,

I want to run a script from my windows 8.1 that is going to check the disks or volumes of our servers and it must send a report by mail.

but when try to run the script get this error:

Get-WmiObject : Cannot validate argument on parameter 'ComputerName'. The argument is null or empty. Supply an argument that is not null or empty and then try the command again.
    At C:\My Scripts\diskspace.ps1:10 char:46
    + $tableFragment= Get-WMIObject  -ComputerName $Computer Win32_LogicalDisk `
    +                                              ~~~~~~~~~
        + CategoryInfo          : InvalidData: (:) [Get-WmiObject], ParameterBindingValidationException
        + FullyQualifiedErrorId : ParameterArgumentValidationError,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.GetWmiObjectCommand

script must look in to a list.txt file for a list of the server/PCs, just for a test I put only the IP of one PC (windows 7) in this txt file but when run the script get the above error, the script is:

$users = "toaddress@yourdomain.com" # List of users to email your report to (separate by comma)
    $fromemail = "fromaddress@yourdomain.com"
    $server = "yourmailserver.yourdomain.com" #enter your own SMTP server DNS name / IP address here
    $list = $args[0] #This accepts the argument you add to your scheduled task for the list of servers. i.e. list.txt
    $computers = get-content $list #grab the names of the servers/computers to check from the list.txt file.
    # Set free disk space threshold below in percent (default at 10%)
    [decimal]$thresholdspace = 10

#assemble together all of the free disk space data from the list of servers and only include it if the percentage free is below the threshold we set above.
    $tableFragment= Get-WMIObject  -ComputerName $computers Win32_LogicalDisk `