Lost password RRS feed

• Question

• Can anyone help me please???

My windows 10 computer has just failed as the OS system files have become corrupted during a system restore.

I have been using Money 2001 for over 25 years and when I have tried to install the disc on an alternative computer, the password is not recognised....I sadly don't have a note of it written down and have tried everything I can think of without luck.

I desperately need to access and restore the backup file which is stored in Dropbox but get stuck at the password stage.

Is there anyway to remove the stored password or find the password on the computer so I can carry on working with my file in Money?

I would be really grateful if someone can help as I am really stuck with what to do.

Thanks

Genny

Tuesday, August 11, 2020 10:25 PM

All replies

• Did you think you did not have a password at all, or that you thought you knew the password, but it was not recognized? It sounds as if you are saying that you think that you had a password, but now have no recollection of what it was.

What version of Money was running on the failed machine?

What version of Money did you just install?

The deal is that if you actually had a password on the file, and you had upgraded Money to a later version, you are unlikely to get in to your file. Keep a paper and pencil by the bed in case the old password comes to you.

I forget when Money switched to a stronger password.

Wednesday, August 12, 2020 2:22 AM
  • Hi Cal,

No I have always typed the same password...it is just not recognising it.

I have installed Money 2001 again which was the same version as on the failed machine.

I did try and install Sunset earlier in the week when I couldn't find the Money 2001 disc and I wonder if that has mucked things up?

I have tried all the passwords it could be.....

Annoyingly I can see the file I need in dropbox but I can't access it because of the password issue - is there anyway to remove the password?