locked
Connector Software Fails to Upgrade For Me on Windows7 RC x64 RRS feed

  • Question

  • after successfully installing whs power pack 3 - i am unable to upgrade connector software on a windows 7 x64 dedicated media center machine.

    windows 7 notifies me that i need to upgrade the connector software, i double click and provide home server credentials, it attempts to locate software - shows me a progress bar w/ 0% then fails. 

    i am unable to reach this machine at x.x.x.x:50000. i rdp'ed into whs and copied the connector software from \software on whs to a share on the media center. rerun - same issue, cannot connect. i uninstalled the connector software and try again from the copied setup file. no luck.

    so i just decided to cut my losses and run the uninstall.cmd file but after a reboot it still cannot connect. shares + remote desktop are available. nothing found in the event viewer on whs except a couple of my failed login attempts :-)

    as it stands i now have no connection and cannot reinstall the original connector software. any suggestions are appreciated.
    • Edited by george... _ Saturday, July 18, 2009 1:10 PM
    Saturday, July 18, 2009 6:01 AM

Answers

All replies

  • Please try to install the connector via \\Server\Software\Home Server Connector Software
    and report back.

    Regards
    Martin
    Saturday, July 18, 2009 12:11 PM
    Moderator
  • thanks for the response. i tried this w/ the same results.
    Saturday, July 18, 2009 12:37 PM
  • I installed the Windows Home Server Power Pack 3 Beta on my Home Server and everything worked OK, by following the directions listed in the - Windows_Home_Server_Power Pack 3_Beta_Release_Documentation.docx - that was downloaded with the PP3 Beta Package. Note: that the directions ask you to copy the files to a specific folder in the WHS \shares\software\ Folders. I don't know if this makes a difference on Installation, but my install worked OK and the Connector Software was updated on all of my 5 LAN Systems - 2 running Windows 7 RC Build 7100! - Best Regards - - - Shorto
    Saturday, July 18, 2009 4:35 PM
  • thanks for the response. i tried this w/ the same results.

    Are you having problems with other clients?  Are you able to ping your server from your Media Center PC, both by name and by IP address?  Can you run ipconfig /all from that Media Center PC, a different client that works (if you have one), and your server, then post the results here?
    Saturday, July 18, 2009 4:50 PM
    Moderator
  • @shorto

    yes,  i followed it to the T, even naming the folder the same.

    @kariya21

    i have no other computers that run media center, unless you count my two extenders. although i do have other computers if this would help.

    yes,  i'm able to ping by both IP and name.

    here you go:

       Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : this is the server
       Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
       Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
       IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : WORKGROUP

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : WORKGROUP
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Generic Marvell Yukon 88E8056 based Ether
    net Controller
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.5
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
       DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
       DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
                                           10.0.0.1
       Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, July 17, 2009 11:02:09 AM
       Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, July 15, 2018 11:02:09 AM


    Windows IP Configuration

       Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : this is the media center PC
       Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
       Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
       IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : WORKGROUP

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : WORKGROUP
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
      
       IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.3(Preferred)
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
       Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, July 18, 2009 10:59:13 AM
       Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, July 16, 2018 10:59:13 AM
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::222:75ff:fe5e:d7cc%11
                                           10.0.0.1
       DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
       DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234885423
       DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . :
       DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
                                           10.0.0.1
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    • Edited by george... _ Tuesday, July 21, 2009 8:08 AM removed uneeded info to shorten
    Saturday, July 18, 2009 6:00 PM
  • I'm having the same exact problem.

    Windows 64bit Vista Home PC - Had the old connector on it, uninstalled it as a troubleshooting effort.

    WHS running PP2

    Same IP subnet

    Hosts file name resolution works

    Same Netbios workgroup

    Windows firewall disabled or scoped for "any subnet"

    Windows home server connector gives an error "The Files were not downloaded from your server. An internal error occurred in the microsoft windows HTTP services"

    Now happening at 0% progress after 10 attempts. Earlier it failed 3x at 93% complete.

    This does not bode well. Ideas?
    • Edited by rookhawk Sunday, July 19, 2009 2:18 AM Typed HTTPS and meant HTTP
    Sunday, July 19, 2009 2:17 AM
  • here's a XP SP3 machine

            Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
            Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
            Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
            IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.8
            Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
            Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
            DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
            DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
                                                10.0.0.1



    the error I get on both machines is:

    This operation cannot be completed at this time.

    Please try again later. If the problem persists, please contactt Product Support.


    the home server icon is red w/ an X in the bottom right corner. pop up says upgrade windows home server connector.
    Sunday, July 19, 2009 2:19 AM
  • here's a XP SP3 machine

            Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
            Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
            Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
            IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.8
            Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
            Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
            DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
            DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
                                                10.0.0.1



    the error I get on both machines is:

    This operation cannot be completed at this time.

    Please try again later. If the problem persists, please contactt Product Support.


    the home server icon is red w/ an X in the bottom right corner. pop up says upgrade windows home server connector.

    Although the 10.x.x.x/8 IP block is uncommon for home use, it should still work.  The only thing I would question would be the WORKGROUP DNS Suffix.  I assume you didn't change that though?  How about (temporarily) completely disabling the firewall on both your client and your server?  Just out of curiosity, does it work if you break the connection between your modem and your router?  Are you using OpenDNS at all?
    Sunday, July 19, 2009 4:31 AM
    Moderator
  • No clue yet really.  When all else fails, rebot the server.  Check add/remove programs on a client if connector is in there uninstall it, reboot.
    try \\servername\software\home server connectore\setup.exe again
    Grey
    Sunday, July 19, 2009 11:39 PM
    Moderator
  • haven't had a chance to try any of these suggestions yet.  will try later this week and get back.
    Monday, July 20, 2009 4:52 AM
  •  this was bugging me so i decided to give it another shot. turns out i forgot i removed the exemption in windows firewall for http port 55000 and 56000.  so as suggested i disabled the  whole thing and everything worked except I get a 404 as mentioned in http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/whspowerpack3beta/thread/7214ae1f-8f77-4f80-ad40-de477ca0a36c when trying to access the setup file.

    when i re enable the firewall everything again is broken and console communication ends.  any ideas?
    Monday, July 20, 2009 8:03 AM
  • The article you referenced deals with a 401 (forbidden), you talk about 404 (not found).

    Please use Remote Desktop to connect to your server and then verify:
    1. you have a directory D:\shares\Software\Home Server Connector Software
    2. The setup.exe and .msi file dates are July 11 or 12, 2009
    3. Open administrative tools, IIS manager. Expand Web Sites, WHS Site, Setup. You should see the same files as in step 1.


    LightsOut - Power Management for Windows Home Server http://www.home-server-blog.de/add-ins/lightsout/#en
    Monday, July 20, 2009 12:31 PM
    Moderator
  • sorry meant 401.
    smb: \Home Server Connector Software\> ls
      .                                   D        0  Sun Jul 19 16:45:29 2009
      ..                                  D        0  Sun Jul 19 16:45:29 2009
      DOTNETFX20                          D        0  Fri Jul 17 12:36:49 2009
      setup.exe                           A   224112  Sat Jul 11 21:43:56 2009
      WHSConnector.msi                    A 15218176  Sat Jul 11 22:18:12 2009
      WHSConnectorInstall.exe             A  1074024  Wed Mar 11 00:33:08 2009
      WHSConnector_x64.msi                A 16326144  Sat Jul 11 23:38:02 2009
      WHSVersionUpgrade.dll               A    41320  Wed Mar 11 00:32:48 2009
      WHSVersionUpgrade_x64.dll           A    43888  Wed Mar 11 02:26:00 2009
      WHS_ConnectorHelp.chm               A    43283  Fri Feb 20 18:28:48 2009
      WindowsInstaller31                  D        0  Fri Jul 17 12:36:49 2009

    i don't have Setup below WHS Site in IIS manager . I see:
    -WHS site

    +enroll
    +enrollId
    EnrollInsecure
    +health
    +aspnet_client
    bin
    i
    Monday, July 20, 2009 7:56 PM
  • Ok, let's try to fix this. Open IIS manager and navigate to WHS Site.

    1. Right click WHS Site and select "New virtual directory"
    2. Enter Alias "Setup"
    3. Enter "D:\shares\Software\Home Server Connector Software" as path
    4. Don't change permissions

    Right click on the new "Setup" and select properties.
    1. Create a new application name "WHS Application".
    2. verify permissions: Only read should be checked.
    3. Click ok.

    Now repeat your setup.


    LightsOut - Power Management for Windows Home Server http://www.home-server-blog.de/add-ins/lightsout/#en
    Tuesday, July 21, 2009 6:07 AM
    Moderator
  • After completely disabling the Windows Firewall I was able to install the upgraded power pack 3 on my windows 7 media center and use all the new features. After enabling the firewall all communication via the connector software fails.  i've enabled logging at C:\WINDOWS\pfirewall.log on WHS to see if i can see anything. Does anybody know the TCP or UDP ports the connector uses to communicate via the connector software that I can try to add exemptions for. i ran a nmap against the server and see a number of unknown ports.
    Tuesday, July 21, 2009 7:09 AM
  • The ports are documented here:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=42426d83-2c54-446e-86ed-e3e9e7e33a98&displaylang=en

    LightsOut - Power Management for Windows Home Server http://www.home-server-blog.de/add-ins/lightsout/#en
    • Marked as answer by george... _ Tuesday, July 21, 2009 8:01 AM
    Tuesday, July 21, 2009 7:38 AM
    Moderator
  • awesome. thanks!
    Tuesday, July 21, 2009 7:42 AM
  • it all works now. you rock Martin!


    thanks,
    Tuesday, July 21, 2009 8:04 AM
  • Thanks for your feedback.
    LightsOut - Power Management for Windows Home Server http://www.home-server-blog.de/add-ins/lightsout/#en
    Tuesday, July 21, 2009 8:10 AM
    Moderator