WHS 2011 Hard drive issues RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all, 

I have been running WHS2011 for a couple of months now with out any issues. I have noticed over the last couple of days that my hdd activity light on the server has been constantly on, and the dashboard is reporting that one of more pre-defined server folders are missing. When I checked the drive info I found that the drive containing all the videos, music etc is missing. I then restarted the machine and it all seem to come up with out any issues. After reboot the hdd activity light was acting normal, but a couple of hours later it again started to light up constantly, sure enough a couple of minutes later I got the same error and the drive dropped off again. I have noticed that the error seems to occur around about 7 or 9pm. A couple of minutes before the light stays on there are events advising the following.

VailBackupAndTaskMonitor: Timer and monitoring stopped, too many errors

Faulting application name: WSSBackup.exe, version: 6.1.8800.16385, time stamp: 0x4d6ed362

Faulting module name: WSSBackup.exe, version: 6.1.8800.16385, time stamp: 0x4d6ed362

Exception code: 0xc0000025

Fault offset: 0x0000000000048893

Faulting process id: 0x744

Faulting application start time: 0x01cc4a8f3e157ece

Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Windows Server\Bin\WSSBackup.exe

Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\Windows Server\Bin\WSSBackup.exe

Report Id: a860707e-b69b-11e0-8ddb-002522983900

After these errors the drive then drops off and I get 

The device, \Device\Harddisk3\DR3, is not ready for access yet

and 

The driver detected a controller error on \Device\Ide\IdePort2.

When I saw the error with WSSbackup.exe I thought the error was backups and I disabled backups on the server, the other 2 client machines that are connected to the server have also had their backups disabled.