How to run a job for a specific program RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I'm new to HPC and I can't figure out how to run a distributed job. Let's say that I have a program running on 1 machine and it takes a long time to finish processing. I need to use HPC to reduce the time for processing. At the moment, I installed HPC for testing with 1 head node, 1 compute node and 1 client computer to create and submit the job. I tried to create and run a job in Job Manager but they all failed. Should I install the program which I want to be distributed in the client computer where I create and submit the job or in the head node? What is a command for doing this in creating a task? I really appreciate if anyone can tell me some basic steps to create a job in the Job Manager and make it work.  

Thursday, November 25, 2010 6:15 AM

Answers

• The HPC Pack software will allow you to distribute jobs (run apps) on multiple computers across your cluster. This application needs to either be installed on each machine (compute node) or support running from a file share. The HPC Pack software does not handle application deployment natively.

For more information on the system management features of the HPC Pack please see http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee783547(WS.10).aspx

Wednesday, January 12, 2011 2:44 AM

All replies

•  

I have recently started using a HPS as well.

For earliest playing around I just used the Job Scheduler to run a Sweep and replaced where it says

Task.exe    with 

echo %computername% *

after that I moved onto simple batch scripts.

I put my batch scripts/executables on a local disk on the HPC ( a raid array attached to the head node and shared to the compute nodes)

Hope this helps

Thursday, November 25, 2010 6:25 AM
  • Hi Steven,

You just need to make the executable file accessible on all your computenodes. This means that you can: