Installing Windows XP using a Dell disk, on a non-Dell computer RRS feed

• Question

• Apologies if this has been answered before, but I think my question is subtly different to the ones asked before that the search threw up.

I have a (HP/Compaq) computer running Windows XP Professional, licenced on a volume licence agreement. I wish to rebuild/reinstall this computer to solve some problems I am having.

However, it is so long since I've done an XP install that I have mislaid my MS installation media! The nearest thing I can find is a Dell-branded XP Pro reinstallation CD, which would obviously have come with a different computer to this one.

I've never used one of these Dell CDs before - I've always built machines from MS VL media, or customised corporate images/network installers - so I don't know whether the licence is somehow embedded into the CD, or whether it's still going to ask me for a product key.

My question therefore is not 'can I fool this CD into installing on a Compaq, using the Dell-specific licence that may or may not be embedded in the CD', rather:

Is it possible to use this CD to perform a fresh install of XP Pro, using the volume licence key that the Compaq is already running?

Friday, April 15, 2011 11:56 AM

Answers

• "Sam York" wrote in message news:1fd2df40-221a-4c55-a232-f27bb5b72d57...

Apologies if this has been answered before, but I think my question is subtly different to the ones asked before that the search threw up.

I have a (HP/Compaq) computer running Windows XP Professional, licenced on a volume licence agreement. I wish to rebuild/reinstall this computer to solve some problems I am having.

However, it is so long since I've done an XP install that I have mislaid my MS installation media! The nearest thing I can find is a Dell-branded XP Pro reinstallation CD, which would obviously have come with a different computer to this one.