Win7 WHS Connector Issue RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All.
    I am new to WHS to be gentle :-)
    I have a WHS setup with 3 laptops, 2 are Vista (Business & Home editions) and a single Windows 7 Ultimate edition.
    My WHS is running PP3.

I have no problems with the Vista laptops connecting to the WHS.
    The problem is with the Win7 machine.

I can't get the connector to install.

What i can do is
    RDP via MSTSC to the WHS by Name
    PING the server by Name
    Connect to the homeserver connector setup page by Name (http://homeserver:55000

I have read other threads and have seen similar problems - but can't see a resolution for me....

I have
    updated my lmhosts file
    updated my hosts file
    enabled NetBios over TC\PIP

i have a feeling that my connection errors are due to name resolution as nslookup resolves to my ISP's DNS servers.
    any way around this ?

Thanks
    James
    Friday, November 27, 2009 2:44 PM

All replies

• You can try setting your internal DNS to point to your router. If you use DHCP for internal IP configuration, you will change the DNS server for DHCP to your router's internal ip address (usually something like 192.168.0.1 or 10.10.0.1, but I assume you'll be able to figure this out if that's not right). If you manually configure computers, you will need to change TCP/IP configuration on those computers to use the router as DNS server.
    I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    Friday, November 27, 2009 4:20 PM
  • Thanks for the reply - i will try that tonight.
    My WHS server is has a DHCP assigned address assigned that is reserved for the machine - do you suggest changing the DHCP settings on my router (which is my dhcp server) - or just on the WHS server - as all my other machines seem to be connecting OK and accessing the internet just fine....

Thanks again for your reply.

SF

Monday, November 30, 2009 9:27 AM
  • To answer this, the output of ipconfig /all would be needed.