Port forwarding problem RRS feed

• Question

• I have a Linksys WRT54GL router.  I have port forwarding setup for ports 80, 443 and 4125 for TCP and the IP address listed is the address of my WHS which I have setup my server with the fixed address of 192.168.1.100.  Since the beta and now the released version I have always been told that port forwarding is not configured on my router but I can do remote desktop and access the server offsite from the web.  I had the router configured to use Open DNS and had the same experience so I tried turning off Open DNS and have the same result.  Why I am told that this does not work but I can access my server.  Does anyone know a way to list my server in Open DNS which I mainly use because of my three sons.
    Saturday, June 18, 2011 12:28 PM

All replies

• WHS does not play well with some routers - I have no experience of yours but mine is similar. No need for Port 4125 for WHS2011. When you say you can connect from the internet, do you mean Remote Desktop or using the normal method of Remote Access with a browser? What URL are you using to do that? If you have a homeserver.com domain configured and then try to access via an Open DNS domain URL you will get certificate errors.

Phil P.S. If you find my comment helpful or if it answers your question, please mark it as such.
    • Proposed as answer by Phil Harrison Saturday, June 18, 2011 2:03 PM
    Saturday, June 18, 2011 1:18 PM
  • Your server is reporting this issue because it wants to automatically configure your router via UPnP, but your router isn't allowing the configuration. Everything works in spite of the error because you've manually forwarded the required ports to your server.

You can:

• Ignore the error.
    • Turn off automatic router configuration.

For more information, see the Windows Home Server 2011 online help for administrators.

I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    • Proposed as answer by Ken Warren Saturday, June 18, 2011 1:41 PM