Two NAS' Behind Two Routers with a Few uTorrent Setup Questions RRS feed

• Question

• Hello Everyone,

I recently purchased an EX495 Media Smart from HP.  I have a QNAP TS-409Pro that I have been using for the last three years but my family is just at wits end trying to figure out how to deal with a Linux box for most of the duties they demand of the device so I figured that the WHS was a good compromise.  I want to use the Linux box for things like remotely backing up my websites etc. and set them up so they can use the WHS for day to day file storage, downloads and media management.

My network is generally laid out as follows:

• I have an ISP provided modem that I can't get rid of because it is the only gateway for my TV that they will accept.  That modem/router is IP address 192.168.1.1.  It serves as the gateway to the internet and all other functions have been disabled.
    • I installed a second router behind the first.  It is at IP address 192.168.2.1 and serves as the DHCP / wireless access point for the network as well as the gateway for my NAS devices.
    • My two NAS and a PS3 sit behind the second router with IP addresses 192.168.2.2 and 192.168.2.3 and 192.168.2.4 respectively.
    • As seen above, I need to double port forwarding through two routers for my NAS' to get internet exposure.  As a result, the UPNP functions of WHS are useless because they only configure the one router (gateway) properly.  So, I imagine I will need to set a static IP and manually forward ports through the two routers for it just as I have done for the original NAS I own.
    • The QNAP NAS is accessible for torrents, ftp, ssh, web server and a variety of other services through the internet with a reverseDNS address.
    • My modem does not have NATLoopback so I cannot access it from the LAN using the WAN domain address.