none
distributing binaries onto nodes RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hello,

mpiexec -machinefile machines.list -n 4 prog.exe

doesn't work until I manually copy the binary onto each node and specify the working directory where it is located by

-gwdir

parameter. machinefile contains the list of computer names I am willing to use. What am I doing wrong that the nodes and master (where the mpiexec is run) don't send any other information apart the MPI messages itselves among each other? I doubt that I would not have to copy all the files onto each file manually? Why the binary is not spread automatically, should I setup some tmp directory, variable or path?

Thank you for some help

Martin

ps: I am a Windows newbie, please be simple and "comprehensible".

Monday, January 14, 2008 2:35 PM

Answers

• Hi Martin,

There is a "logfiles" folder within the Compute Cluster Pack install directory.  

You might also specify a /stderr: parameter to the Job Submit command and perhaps collect additional status information.

Try inserting the escape character (^) within the embedded environment variables as follows:

job submit /numprocessors:2 /askednodes:master,node1 /stdin:\\master\cluster_share\input.txt /stdout:\\master\cluster_share\output.txt "^%I_MPI_ROOT^%\em64t\bin\mpiexec.exe" -hosts ^%CCP_NODES^% \\master\cluster_share\prog.exe

See the "Compute Cluster User's Guide" installed with the Compute Cluster Pack and the "Use Environment Variables" topic.

Let us know if that doesn't work!

Phil

Friday, January 18, 2008 12:54 AM

All replies

• Hi Martin,

You'll want to use the "working directory" argument and specify a UNC path to the file share.  

Assuming that your are submitting your mpi job via the Compute Cluster Server "Job Submission Console", the working directory environment variable is added automatically to the mpiexe command line.   Note the "working directory" entry within the task configuration dialog Window.