none
On the lack of moderators RRS feed

• Question

• Warning: Critical post follows.  I've been posting here for over 2 years now, and I feel I've earned the right to say what I'm about to say. 

The abysmal lack of moderators is killing this site.  An unmanaged site will soon become an abandoned site.

Are there any plans to add moderators to any forums or even entertain the possibility?  I haven't seen a new moderator in at least a year.  I would gladly volunteer to help.  I've obviously been extremely active, and am often the first person to see a spam post.  That being said, even if I'm not a moderator, something has to be done about this situation. The Architecture forum is a great example of a forum slowly slipping into spamdom.  Before long, it'll die too.  That's a shame.  I love this site, and I'd hate to see it go to waste for lack of administration.

Here's another way to look at it: Which forums are most active?  Are they not the ones that have solid moderation? (C# General, C# Language and .NET BCL come to mind).  This should be a sign.  Adding moderators is not a bad thing.  It's a good thing.

If it's the desire of the administrators and those who believe in these forums to start driving some more traffic, and become competitive with some of the other sites out there, it's necessary that something be done.  Simply doing the same thing again and again expecting different results is exactly what's happening here.  It's time to think about a change.

While the focus has been to change the overall look and feel of the site (and that has been done well, in my estimation), the failure to properly administer the site has begun giving the forums the feel of an abandoned ghost town. 

Some moderators I know have some strong feelings about this.  Many people who post (such as myself) do as well. 

Please, do something. 

Coding Light - Illuminated Ideas and Algorithms in Software
    Coding Light WikiTwitterLinkedInForumsBrowser