none
Visual Studio 2012 debug runs old code

Question

• Hi all,

Thank you for any help you might be able to provide. I apologize, if this question sounds like it might have already been asked since I have found some similar titled questions but none of those solutions helped to resolve my problem, so I am posting a question of my own.

I have Visual Studion 2012 Professional currently with Update 1. Its running on a Windows 7 64bit pc with SP1. I am also running a local version of IIS and my version of Internet Explorer is 9. No new windows updates have been installed. I am a local admin of the pc.

The project that I am working on has begun to behave erradically when it comes to debugging. Most notably, when I go to debug ( F5 ) I am not getting the latest code changes incorporated into the debug process and its adding debug points into the code that I did not put there. What is making this more frustrating is just when I think I might have found a solution (e.g. something I've tried works once) then the problem starts again. Some of the things I have tried include:

Restarting my computer
    Restarting Visual Studio
    Repairing Visual Studio
    Installing Update 1 to Visual Studio
    Deleting contents of Temporary ASP.NET folder
    Deleting contents of WebsiteCache folder
    Rebuild Solution
    Rebuild Website
    Going to Debug -> Options:
       General - Require source files to exactly match original version is checked
       Edit and Continue - disabled/enabled this
       Symbols - downloaded symbols into cache, emptied cache, reloaded symbols

Debug -> Projections and Solutions:
          Build and Run -
          On Run, when projects out of date is set to Always Build
          On Run, when build or deployment errors set to Prompt to launch
          For new solutions use the currently selected project as the startup project
    Going to Debug -> Windows -> Modules to confirm modules were loaded during debug