none
ASP.NET (C#): How do I cast RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to ASP.NET and not strong in C# and I am having a problem I hope someone can help me with (odds are I am leaving out a major step or two).

What I am trying to do is have an ASP.NET Web Application which reads an Access database file in the application and displays customer information.  I created a drop down for the customers to be selected and labels for the information about each customer to be displayed as a customer was selected from the drop down.

I was able populate the drop down with the customer names and have it compile ok, but when I tried to pull the address etc from the database file, I received the following error: 

Cannot implicitly convert type 'System.Collections.IEnumerable' to 'System.Data.Dataview'  An explicit conversion exists (are you missing a cast?) 

The error was associated with the line: currentCustomer = AccessDataSource...

protected void Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
            {
                ddlCustomer.DataBind();

DataView currentCustomer = new DataView();

currentCustomer = AccessDataSource.Select(DataSourceSelectArguments.Empty);

}

According to the error message, I am supposed to do a conversion, but I have no idea how to do that and I was unable to find anything during my search.

Any suggestions?  Thank you!!

• Moved by Fei Hu Monday, February 5, 2018 6:43 AM Asp.Net related
    Saturday, February 3, 2018 6:11 AM

All replies

• You need something like this,

AccessDataSource ds = new AccessDataSource();

DataView currentCustomer = (DataView)ds.Select(DataSourceSelectArguments.Empty);

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help, this will help others who are looking for solutions to the same or similar problem. Contact via my Twitter (kokkisajee) or Facebook (sajeetharan) profile for Sajeetharan at Stack Overflow, Q&A for professional and enthusiast programmers