Opening backups on one of my PC's crashes the Backup Service RRS feed

• Question

• running WHS, with PP3 on an eMachines Celeron, 2gigs memory, 2TB disk.

Problem Description: I have been using the Windows Home Server for the last 2 months backing up six home PCs.  The server was set to auto update itself.  About a week ago when I try to open up a backup set on my primary home PC I am getting the dreaded "WHS Computer Backup is not running, restart WHS, error..."    I narrowed down the problem to my primary home PC running Vista ultimate 32bit edition.  When I try to look at the backup details I get the error.  
    I tried to resolve the problem via the Article ID: 946339 - Last Review: May 14, 2009 - Revision: 3.0
    How to troubleshoot the “Backup service is not running” error message in Windows Home Server.  It did not work.   I read some solutions found on the windows forums and ended up removing the PC from the backup list, repairing the database, cleaning the database, restarting the server then re-adding the PC and backing it up anew.  The daily client PC backsup fine and I see no errors in the client log file but every time I try to look at the details for any of the backups it crashes the backup service.  The other PC's work fine.

Any ideas on how to fix this? 

Thanks,

Alan

Friday, March 19, 2010 2:48 AM

All replies

• Try running chkdsk on all the drives in your server , then go through another round of repair and cleanup.
    I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    Friday, March 19, 2010 3:24 AM
  • I forgot to mention it but based on some articles that I read I did that first on both the C: and D: drives and tried to repair and cleanup before I removed the PC from WHS backup.  I was trying not to lose all the original backups I had since it is my main home PC.  I had to bit the bullet to remove the PC and lose the orginial backups.  Chkdsk /f/r takes a while on the 2TB drive, do you think it would still make a difference now?