Building a Chenbro (ES34069) Home Server RRS feed

• General discussion

• I hear great things about the Chenbro ES34069 case, looks great to me, and would like to build a brand new home server with it.

I have the WHS software and I've some experience building PC's previously (some time ago). However, I am not sure what parts to get for this case, nowadays? I don't seem to be able to find any information anywhere useful to help me identify what quality parts to get for it.

Has anyone built a WHS with this case yet?, or can help me select some high quality parts essential for building and installing this WHS?

So far, all I've heard is that the Jetway J7F2 series motherboard is compatible, and someone has used a Promise SATA SATA150 TX4 controller. If those are decent, then I think all else I need are: the fans, the PSU and CPU with fan. Would you agree? and am I missing anything else necessary?

Of course I can get disks and memory off the shelf at any BestBuy.

p.s. Please consider that I will need to somehow acomadate a head (monitor and keyboard) for installing the software I assume, and then after install remove the head off it later.

What would I need there then? Can I get away with something simple without investing in a new video card?

much appreciated,

(I hope others looking at this case may get some value from this thread too).

Monday, February 4, 2008 1:34 AM

All replies

• My preferance would be a VIA SN18000G. It seems to be a better value for WHS than the Jetway or MSI boards when you considure the cost of adding a CPU.

Monday, February 4, 2008 3:54 AM

• If you can find a mini-itx board with 4xsata II ports you can do without the controller.  Make sure whatever board you get has onboard graphics.  Note the case doesn't have any PCI expansion ports, any card mounted onto the motherboard will not have a bracket.

It's a neat case, but it is pricey when compared to a standard atx case that can do more.
    Monday, February 4, 2008 5:36 AM