MSMONEY version 3 - SAVE file turns into 4GB RRS feed

• Question

• I've been using Money version 3 for many years. I've tried all the other versions but still like this old one the best. The program still works great except for one odd problem. As soon as I print any of the reports, then save the file on exit, the resulting file turns into a 4GB plus file instead of something around 130kb. I wonder what makes it do this. You can still open and use this huge file but what a waste of HD space. Anybody got any ideas how this could be fixed?
    Tuesday, January 31, 2012 2:43 PM

All replies

• That would correspond to the 1995 version of Money, I think. Disk drives over 4 GB were not in use back then, at least at home.

I have not heard of that behavior, but I have an idea. You might try putting your file into a volume with less than 2 GB of free space. This could be a hard drive partition, a USB flash drive, or even a virtual drive. TrueCrypt would let you create an encrypted virtual hard drive of whatever size you want.

You could also consider converting to a newer version. The sticky post at the top of this forum will give you a link to a free download.

Tuesday, January 31, 2012 5:55 PM
  • I have recently moved microsoft money to a windows 7 computer ( previously ran on xp). All is working perfectly except that now files have grown from kb to 4gb in size.  As I have 3 separate files that's 12gb. Why is this happening? What can I do to get them back to a useable size?
    Wednesday, July 16, 2014 8:31 AM
  • I have recently moved microsoft money to a windows 7 computer ( previously ran on xp). All is working perfectly except that now files have grown from kb to 4gb in size.  As I have 3 separate files that's 12gb. Why is this happening? What can I do to get them back to a useable size?

What version of Money are you using on the new computer?
    Wednesday, July 16, 2014 8:04 PM
  • I am using the same version as being discussed- it is Version 3.