Calling Synchronize() for providers with updated items causes SaveChangeAction.Create instead of UpdateVersionAndMergeData RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to Sync Framework, that's why I'm working on a sample to understand it. I'm using Sync Framework Version 2.

I've got two separate SyncProviders, each of them derived from KnowledgeSyncProvider and implementing IChangeDataRetriever and INotifyingChangeApplierTarget. Provider pA operates on a sample data store dA consisting of a generic list of items which are of type tA. Provider pB operates on a separate data store dB consisting of a generic list of items which are of type tB.

At the beginning, provider pA is forced to insert two items in its data store, and provider pB is forced to insert two other items in its data store. After inserting these items, I call Synchronize() on the SyncOrchestrator object that owns provider pA as LocalProvider and provider pB as RemoteProvider. After this synchronization, each data store consists of four items, two of each converted during synchronization to the other type. Until this point, the code works fine.

Now, I'm updating an item of store dA and an item of store dB. Updating means in this case setting another value for a certain string member. Both items have got the same primary key in the dataStore and the same SyncId in the MetadataStore.

Finally, I want to call Synchronize() on the SyncOrchestrator object, but when reaching the SaveItemChange method (from INotifyingChangeApplierTarget), the SaveChangeAction argument of this method has got the value Create. I don't understand this!! I expected to get UpdateVersionAndMergeData, because I did not insert new objects to the data stores - I only updated existing items. Can you help me solving this problem? Probably I did something wrong, can you tell me what it is?

Tuesday, April 13, 2010 1:12 PM

All replies

• Hi,