none
Can I write Windows 7 3D applications using the 3D Starter Kit? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I am a long time C#, and to some extent, C++ developer.
    Now I want to do some 3D, question is, can I use the 3D Starter Kit for this, or is there another path I can follow?

* I will not make a 3D Game.
    * I will not make an "app".
    * I will not make something that only runs on Widows 8.

What I want, is to write a good old-fashion Windows application, which will display some some 3D, and also capture this and store it as an image sequence or a video. The ability to write 3D is fascinating, but I have no experience so far. I want to load a few simple meshes, and animate these in 3D space, in accordance with some data. Add simple light(s), simple shaders, perhaps add a texture, and so on.
    Main requirement is that this application at least has to run on Windows 7, preferably also on Vista.

My target users are professional 3D animators / designers, who probably need the tool am want to make. They mostly work on desktop computers, several screens, and mostly run Windows 7.

My question goes like this:
    Does Microsoft have libraries that will help me out here? Is the 3D starter kit suitable? I ask, because everywhere I look, there is the talk about "apps", games and "surface" and Windows 8.

-Ingvar

Thursday, November 20, 2014 12:58 AM

Answers

• Hi Ingvar,

Thanks for your friendly response.

>>Develop Windows 7 applications.

Maybe you could tell us the real language and app type like WPF or others, you know that this forum is to discuss the Visual Studio WPF/SL Designer, Visual Studio Guidance Automation Toolkit, Developer Documentation and Help System, and Visual Studio Editor. Actually Visual Studio 3D Starter Kitis really out of support range of this forum.

As my previous suggestion, one idea is that you could post a question with “Q AND A” here:

https://code.msdn.microsoft.com/windowsapps/Visual-Studio-3D-Starter-455a15f1/view/Discussions#content