How to manage transactions in CRM 4.0 using CRM SDK RRS feed

• Question

• hi experts...

I am new in CRM development and seeking a help as bellow...

I am creating/updating my custom/built-in entities through visual studio using CRM SDK. In a single event I need to create a new entity and need to update an existing one.

Giving a real example (step by step):

1. Creating a custom Entity named [Distribution]
    2. Adding a file (Annotation) in the Distribution entity (actually creating a new annotation entity for the newly created distribution).

But it may happen that an error occured while adding the file as an annotation with the Distribution entity just after creating the distribution entity successfully.

What I need to do is in this case...just rollback the changes that created the Distribution entity.

And if the file is added successfully then commit it.

Is there any way to accomplish this task through CRM SDK...???

Thanks in advance...
    Tuesday, August 18, 2009 5:12 AM

Answers

• Hi Rehman, Unfornatelly MS  CRM Sdk doesn't support transactions as yet. Not in CRM 4.0 at least
    I think they may gave teh trasactions object in CRM 5 only in Plugin.

So for you either you have to have to rollback explicitly in this case. what i means if the error in the plugin  comes while uploading annotation entity, you delete the regarding entity if the regarding enttiy = "Distribution"

You can add this code to your post- annotation plugin

public void execute()
    {

try{
    }
    catch(Exception ex)
    {
              if ( entity.regarding  == "Distribution")
                  // then delete the regarding entity for rollback complete.
    }

}
    Tuesday, August 18, 2009 5:38 AM

All replies

• Hi Rehman, Unfornatelly MS  CRM Sdk doesn't support transactions as yet. Not in CRM 4.0 at least
    I think they may gave teh trasactions object in CRM 5 only in Plugin.