Win Server 2003 and new Internet Security 2013 Virus RRS feed

• Question

• Hello All,

I am new to the IT field and my manager is out of town and I need help in fixing a computer that has gotten the horrible new "Internet Security 2003" virus. I was trying the regular ways of removing it but it would not work. Through me conducting research on how to remove the virus in a Microsoft forum it was suggested that you do a system restore. I did that without the prior knowledge that the server would void out the trust relationship with the computer that I was trying to remove the virus from. So....I was trying to go through the server to try and establish the trust relationship and every method that I tried did nothing to reestablish the trust relationship between the computer and the domain. I removed the computer from the server and then added it back and it still doesn't trust the computer. SO now the only thing that I can think of is to log into the computer locally change the name of the computer so that server will think that its a new computer being added to the network and then I can go back to figuring out on how to remove this virus!! But when I tried logging in locally I could not do that either since on this computer the administrator local log in was never created on it!!! SO now I am completely stuck!!! and now the server doesn't trust the computer at all!!

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks in advance!!!

• Changed type Richard MuellerMVP Monday, June 17, 2013 2:07 PM Needs assistance, how to fix
    • Moved by Richard MuellerMVP Monday, June 17, 2013 2:24 PM Not a "TechNet Wiki Discussion"
    Monday, June 17, 2013 1:49 PM

Answers

• The best forum I could find for your question is this Microsoft Answers/Community forum:

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/protect/forum/protect_scanning