CRM 4 Data Migration Manager won't login/start RRS feed

• Question

• Hey all,
    I am trying to get the CRM 4 data migration manager to work. The install goes fine, but I have issues after that. I click to run the DMM from the start menu and the window comes up with the buttons to Sign In or Cancel. I click sign in and it shows some progress bars and such, after about 30 seconds it goes right back to the Sign In and Cancel screen.
    It does not give me any errors or anything, and I can't find anything relavant in the event logs. I have install DMM on our CRM server as well as a domain client and the same result happens. I am installing and running it myself and I am a domain admin as well as a CRM sys admin. Our CRM server is running Windows Server 2003 SP2(Virtual) and our SQL 2005 database is on another server running Windows Server 2003 SP2 x64 edition.

Any help with this issue is appreciated, thanks.
    Brian
    Friday, June 20, 2008 7:43 PM

Answers

• I also encounted this issue. I had renamed the original contracts to "Service Contracts" and created a new custom "Contracts" entity.  After renaming the new Contracts entity to another name and renaming the original system entity back to Contracts, and publishing my customizations, the DMM signed in as usual.

Thanks for posting this!

Friday, October 3, 2008 3:59 PM

All replies

• That tool didn't really help me.  I scanned the log from the crm server and didn't see anything that stood out.  Would it help to run the migration manager on the CRM server or the SQL server instead of my client machine?
    Monday, June 23, 2008 7:26 PM
  • can you see log file and send us for more details to understand.

also you can contact MS for suport

Regards,

Imran

Tuesday, June 24, 2008 5:18 PM
  • Imran,

I am having the same problem. I was able to run the log. What timeout am i looking for? I see some timeouts for SQL, but there are no values.

Jason

Thursday, June 26, 2008 6:03 PM