Message says my OS is counterfeit and that I must buy a new one? RRS feed

• Question

• Results 1-20 of about 66,800,000 for: What is happening? I have been using a machine with Win7 for several months. Suddenly, I get a message saying my OS is counterfeit and that I must buy a new one. Is this a scam anyone has seen before, or does MS have a faulty investigative program? HELP!
    I purchase my hardware and software from reputable companies and I seriously doubt that they would want the legal issues of selling improper software.  Has anyone successfully stood up to this mistreatment?  My lawyer would cost more than new software - I just don't like being taken advantage of - be it a scam or BIG BROTHER BILL.
    If it is not a scam, I don't like paying twice for the same software - especially when there would be nothing in my power to prevent MS from repeating their unjustified threats.
    Any insights would be greatly appreciated!
    Regards,
    Davis
    Friday, April 23, 2010 4:29 AM

Answers

• Hello Davis,

No Where in ANY of the Non-Genuine messaging, that you have received, were you EVER Threatened.   No funtionality has been removed or altered (except the desktop background my turn black from time to time) nor will any be removed or altered in the forseeable future. You have been notified of a problem, Nothing More.

To date there has been a little over 400 Windows 7 Non-Genuine problem threads in this forum.  That is a miniscule amount compared to the number of Windows 7 in use right now. Given those numbers, you are experiencing what would be considered a Rare issue.