Unable to access shares on my WHS 2011 RRS feed

• Question

• What I have...

Server: WHS 2011, HP ProLiant Ultra Micro Tower, 3x2Tb hdd, 1x1Tb hdd, 4Gb ram

PC: Win 7 Ult 64bit, Core i5 gen2 (1155), 8Gb ram, 128Gb ssd (OS), 2x1Tb hdd, HD6950, P67 chipset

My issue...

My PC cannot access the shares on the server. I have installed, uninstalled, rebooted, cleaned reg, re-installed, stood one one leg, leaned to the left, pat my head and rub my tummy (at the same time) and my PC just cannot access the shares. I am an 16 year IT vet and have never had such a frustrating experience trying to get two Windows based systems to talk to one another. I can RDC from PC to server just fine. I have even tried the old fashioned way and created accounts and set permissions on the server to no effect. My HTPC (Win7Pro64bit) has no issues. My two net books (both Win7HomePre32) have no issues. I have even tried a fresh OS install on my PC and it does not work. If anyone can help with this before I take a sledge hammer and/or shotgun to it I would be most greeatful.

I guess I should say this did work for a few days after I first built the server but now all my data has been migrated to it, now I can't access it.

Thanks

• Edited by jeverson Sunday, April 29, 2012 3:24 AM
    Sunday, April 29, 2012 3:24 AM

Answers

• I have even tried the old fashioned way and created accounts and set permissions on the server to no effect.

What are your exact symptoms. Not sure what you mean by the above. Using the Dashboard to create User Accounts with the same Passwords on the Server as you have on your Client machines is the correct way of doing this.

If it has stopped working, what have you done in the intervening period - sounds as though you might have been working directly on the Server rather than using the Dashboard? Also suggest removing it from any HomeGroup you may have and just use individual folder permissions in the Dashboard.