Set 'from' field when replying to emails RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

When a user replies to an email the 'From' is automatically populated with their own credentials. However, there is a need in some departments for it to come from the generic department email address.

Currently, the user has to manually change this. Is there any way to automatically populate the 'From' field with the generic email address?

Many thanks,

Richard

Tuesday, March 17, 2015 11:08 AM

All replies

• hi Richard,

you have not specified if you are using outlook for email tracking.

you have two options, one is to change the from address in outlook using delegation.

another is to create the reply as email activity in CRM (with the correct from address) and then synchronize the activity to outlook.

let me know if you want any clarification.

regards

Jithesh

Tuesday, March 17, 2015 11:17 AM
  • Hi Jithesh,

Thanks for the response.

Please excuse if I am not providing the right info. I am very new to CRM and using this as a task to understand more.

I expect I will also need to look at this on an Outlook client soon but right now it is in the web browser. I go to a Queue, select an email and attempt click reply to. I appreciate this is a real newbie question but could you point me in the right direction of perhaps changing the settings within the web browser or even a tutorial on how to get my head around this?

Many thanks,

Richard

Tuesday, March 17, 2015 12:17 PM
  • Richard,

If you stick to the Web client, you can change the from address with some JavaScript code on the OnLoad event for the Email form.  You have to decide if you want it to be 'from' a User, or Queue, and do get the id and name for that record.

var lookupValue = new Array();
    lookupValue[0] = new Object();
    lookupValue[0].id = id; // This is the Guid of the System User the email is 'from'
    lookupValue[0].name = name;  // This is the name of the user (e.g. John Smith)