HP Media Smart EX470/475 running Sempron 3400+ CPU at half speed? RRS feed

• Question

• I have no personal experience with the HP product. I built my own WHS boxes. A cheap minimum spec for the RC. Then a hardware upgraded version for the OEM. Based on the threads I've read either of them perform much better than the HP offering.

It looks like HP is running the already weak Sempron at about HALF-SPEED! Maybe for thermal reasons. The CPU may have a passive heatsink and rely on air flow through the case for cooling.

The specs for a standard 3400+ 1.8GHz Sempron (cheapest one from Newegg).

http://www.amdcompare.com/us-en/desktop/details.aspx?opn=SDA3400IAA3CW

Notice the CPU speed of 1800Mhz and the HT speed of 1600. Here is the CPUZ output from a member of this forum for the CPU in an HP Media Smart.

http://www.homeserverhacks.com/2007/12/looking-into-processor-upgrade.html

The CPU speed is 1000MHz! The HT speed is 800! Maybe I'm missing something, but it looks to me like HP took a very weak Sempron processor and under clocked it? Add that to the minimum spec memory which is a single slot so it cannot run in dual channel interleaved mode which doubles memory bandwidth. What you end up with is a very poor performing server which many of the posts in this forum have commented on.

Warren

Thursday, December 13, 2007 7:50 PM

Answers

• Warren,

AMD has something they call "Cool n Quiet."  It is a technology that ramps down CPU frequency during periods of low CPU utilization.  I'm sure HP is using that.

I believe Intel refers to their version of this technology as "Speedstep."

Most people never notice the drop in CPU frequency when their PC is idle (or even web browsing) because they aren't running utilities which display their current clock speed.
    Thursday, December 13, 2007 8:13 PM

All replies

• Warren,