none
Can I use my Silicon Image (eg. SiI) 3114 card with Windows Home Server? RRS feed

• Question

• Can I use my Silicon Image (eg. SiI) 3114 card with Windows Home Server?  It's actually a "SYBA SD-SATA-4P PCI SATA Controller Card" with a Silicon Imaging (SiI) 3114 chip.

I've heard that you need to flash the BIOS on this card so it functions in regular IDE mode.  Is this true?

I've actually tried flashing one of these cards before and it killed the card.  (I'm not a newbie and have flashed many, many motherboards before so I do know what I'm doing)

Anyways, I'm getting a replacement card and I want to make sure I configure this one properly.

Thanks!

Monday, December 24, 2007 5:54 PM

Answers

• I'm using a Rosewill card that has the SIL 3114 chip with no issues.  Didn't have to do any BIOS flashing or anything...just load Windows 2003 drivers (which are 1.5.10.0, dated 9/2006...according to System Info).

I'm using an eSATA drive with the card and it's working just fine!

Tuesday, December 25, 2007 3:37 AM

All replies

• I've built a couple of servers using the 3112 version with no problems. The only thing to ensure, was that the standard 2003 drivers were used, not the Raid version. I don't know about the 3114, but the 3112 is multiplier aware, so the WHS has the option of connecting to an external box with up to 5 disks.

Colin

Monday, December 24, 2007 6:16 PM
  • I'm using a Rosewill card that has the SIL 3114 chip with no issues.  Didn't have to do any BIOS flashing or anything...just load Windows 2003 drivers (which are 1.5.10.0, dated 9/2006...according to System Info).

I'm using an eSATA drive with the card and it's working just fine!

Tuesday, December 25, 2007 3:37 AM