?'s - using single subscription on pc's that are not aware of each other... RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I am relatively new to OneCare and I want to ask a few noob questions about adding a 2nd computer to my single OneCare subscription.

I have 2 computers. One vista 32bit and the other (with OneCare) uses vista 64 bit.  I want to add OneCare to the 32bit vista pc.  I dont have any fancy routers, never setup a network in my life, and I dont have a single wire of any kind running between one computer and the other.

So do I just download OneCare onto the 2nd pc somehow using or identifying the Live account I originally used to activate OneCare?  Do I need to make one of the pc's a "hub pc" even though I have no intention of introducing the two pc's to each other?  It would be nice (for me) if OneCare ran as a standalone program for each pc.  Does (can) it work that way?

Not sure how to get started when I am in the mindset of keeping the two pc's unaware of each other.  I am under the impression with all the OneCare "circle" references that the "3 pc subscription" idea is meant for home pcs that are some what joined together.

And if I may ramble for a bit... I do have an external USB hard drive partitioned into 4 or 5 drives.  I use the first partition to allow scheduled backups to occur for the 64bit vista pc that currently runs OneCare.  Will I need to direct the other pc to use a different partition when it wants to perform a back up?  If I let the 2nd pc perform back ups to the same partition the other pc backs up to, will things between them get confused.  Or will the two computers keep track of their own files and not (interfere) get confused with the others'.  I realize that when one pc wants to perform a back up I will have to unplug and re-plug the USB wire from the external hard drive into which ever pc wants to use it at the time.  No problem for me there.