newbie question: estimate parentage in pedigree RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

the INFER.NET engine seems to be very promising in my field of research (plant genetics) and I would love to get on board but have some start up issues.

In a pilot project I produced some code (in VB) to generate plants and (by linking them up) a pedigree structure.

I currently use recursive code to obtain the expected average fraction of a certain founding plant in each of my derived progeny. I would like to replace this (point) estimate with a proper INFER.NET posterior distribution, setting prior values (.observedvalue?) to the founders and deriving posterior probabilities for mean and variance for the expected fraction of founder genome at each of the progeny.

It seems to me this must be possible using infer.net ; the probability to derive genome from a parent could be defined as a bernoulli(0.5)?  but I am new to infer.net and need some help to get started.

Can someone give me some input how to implement this in a way similar to my getIBDwithTarget function (see code below)?

Thanks a lot

Ralph van Berloo

Imports MicrosoftResearch.Infer
    Imports MicrosoftResearch.Infer.Models
    Imports MicrosoftResearch.Infer.Distributions

Public Class Plant
        Property Parent1 As Plant
        Property Parent2 As Plant
        Property Name As String

Sub New(ByVal parent1 As Plant, ByVal parent2 As Plant, ByVal name As String)
            _Parent1 = parent1
            _Parent2 = parent2
            _Name = name
        End Sub

Function IsFounder() As Boolean
            Return (_Parent1 Is Nothing AndAlso _Parent2 Is Nothing)
        End Function
    End Class

Public Class DeriveIBD

' interest is in expectation AND variance for fraction of genome derived from Founder1
        Dim founder1 As New Plant(Nothing, Nothing, "Founder1")
        Dim founder2 As New Plant(Nothing, Nothing, "Founder2")