New user to crm, need some basic questions answered RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a fairly good user of C# but I'm new to CRM and the SDK. As a result, I'm on a mission to learn as much as I can to help me so I have these questions:

1) How can I pass parameters into an event handler? I'm using .NET 1.1. The prob;em is having an event handler which calls a function which takes parameters.

2) I need to retrieve columns from 2 entities - contact (multiple) and account (single). What I need to do is write these to a csv file. I can open the file but, as I have stored each column attribute into a string variable (all columns retrieved being of type string), the file just says system.string[] (the type).

How can I actually write the real value of each attribute into the file (ie for phone nu mber, 020348384 or whatever it may be). As I store the columnset into a string variable I only get the methods and properties of a string. I'm fine with the streamwriter part of this, but not the retrieval.

I know this is to do with using the businessentitycollection object and iterating through this but despite everything I've tried I've been unsuccessful.

3) In a retrieve single, I need to set the GUID. Problem is, the ID for each entity is of type Key but I want a GUID. How can I successfully cast this into GUID and then pass it into the retrieve statement? I know it's all to do with casting but this is one of my weak areas.

I keep getting object reference not set to an instance of an object errors. Do I also have to pass the var as a function parameter? Which brings me back nicely to point 1...

I will post code samples up to aid these questions, soon.

Thanks
    Friday, February 8, 2008 8:47 PM

Answers

• Hi.

foreach( BusinessEntity entity in entities.BusinessEntities )
    {
                contact Contact = entity as contact;
                //Print Lookup Elements Actual Values

Console.WriteLine( Contact.parentcustomerid.name); // parent account name actual value