none
I'd appreciate some advice on certification; I'm switching "careers" RRS feed

• Question

• Long story short, I have a master's degree in physics. After graduating in May 2008, I was unemployed for nearly two years. Just a few months ago, I managed to get a teaching job. It is low-paying, however, and I'm being hired on an as-needed basis for periods of three months at a time. I'd say right now that it's safe to say that this degree is not going to give me a real job. I need to abandon any hopes of my master's degree producing anything decent and pursue something else.
    I'm very seriously considering some type of Microsoft certification right now so that I can get a better job and make more than $20k a year. Now, I have a good deal of programming experience that I've learned on my own (C++, Fortran, assembly) over the course of several years. I am not, however, a professional developer with any professional experience. I'm considering getting an MCTS certification in particular.
    So I would just like to get advice on which MCTS would be a good one to get right now. Mainly, I'd like to know which would be most accessible given my background, which would be most marketable nowadays (I was leaning towards some type of .NET certification), and also provide me with the best foundation so that I could branch out into other realms later as needed. If there's anything else that it sounds like I should be aware of, I'd appreciate that also.  Thanks in advance.

Wednesday, September 29, 2010 3:05 AM

Answers

• Hi,

Thanks for your post here